Belize’s Offshore Legislation

Belize Government’s Commitment to the Offshore Industry

The government is fully committed to the ongoing development of Belize as a leading offshore jurisdiction. Through regular consultations with the private sector, the government ensures that its policies and legislation are more mindful of the needs and interests of the international financial community in an environment which engenders trust and confidence.

Belize’s Offshore Legislation

In 1990, Belize enacted new legislation creating the International Business Company (IBC), a refinement of the British Virgin Island’s model. In a short period of time, the jurisdiction has risen to prominence as one of the world’s progressive offshore jurisdiction. In addition to having one of the most modern and up to date offshore legislation, Belize’s success can also be attributed to the country’s long history of economic, social and political stability.

Principal Pieces of Belize Offshore Legislation

Belize’s International Partners

Belize maintains close ties with its global counterparts, and is signatory to several conventions, including: The Caribbean Basin Initiative (CBI), LOME IV, Caribbean/Canada (CARIBCAN) and The Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

In addition, Belize holds membership in several international organizations, including: The Association of Caribbean States, The British Commonwealth, CARICOM, African Pacific Caribbean Countries (ACP), The Caribbean Development Bank, The Inter-American Development Bank, The International Monetary Fund, The Non-Aligned Movement, The Organization of American States, The United Nations, the World Bank, The Organization for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America (OPANAL), and The Caribbean Bananas Export Association.

Belize has also signed double taxation agreements with many countries, including: The United Kingdom, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Lucia, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Suriname and Monseratt.